Book my escapade
Frankton1 – July 4, 2021
the landscape and heritage of the estuary
The landscape and heritage of the estuary - 110 km
8:30 am : Meet at CapBurdi’s address
Address : Zone d’Activité Economique, Chemin du Bussaguet, Le Taillan-Médoc
8:30 am – 9:30 am : presentation and handover of our 2CV
9:30 am – 10:30 am : transfer to Lamarque Pier to transport us by boat to Blaye (37 km) with the vehicles
11:00 am – 11:30 am : crossing of the estuary by ship to the famous Citadelle de Blaye
11:30 am – 12:30 pm : transfer and short walk in the famous Citadelle de Blaye
Citadelle de Blaye is today, within the Network of Major Vauban Sites, listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site with the Vauban Bolt. Marked by the history of France and by illustrious people, it invites you to discover magnificent panoramas over the largest estuary in Europe: the Gironde.
12:30 pm – 2:00 pm : lunch in Blaye
2:00 pm – 2:15 pm : Transfer to Castel of Ségonzac in Saint-Genès de Blaye (6 km)
Frankton memories :
The progress of the British commandos of Operation Frankton was materialized by the affixing of commemorative plaques and stelae on their route, mainly due to the association “Frankton Souvenir”. Eager to follow in their footsteps, it is sometimes quite difficult to locate these signs.
2:30 pm : Frankton at Château de Segonzac
3:30 pm : Guided tour of Citadelle De Bourg
The site has known successively the Gallo-Roman villa of the Pontii, a medieval castle, a citadel built at the end of the XVIth century and a charterhouse, called “Château de la Citadelle”. The crossing of the park to reach the bottom of the cliff to discover the interior of one of the seven oil tanks of the Second World War, of impressive size, in reinforced concrete. They served as fuel reserves for war materials.
5:00 pm – 5:30 pm : transfer to Cubzac-les-Ponts (15 km)
From the Port of Cubzac, view of the 2 bridges
History of the ROAD Bridge :
The Cubzac road bridge or Cubzac bridge is a road bridge allowing the national road 10 connecting Cubzac-les-Ponts to Saint-Vincent-de-Paul to cross the Dordogne. This road bridge, built by Gustave Eiffel between 1879 and 1883, to replace it, on the foundations of the old suspension bridge which had been washed away by a storm.
History of the RAILWAY Bridge :
It is a truss bridge commissioned in 1886 on the line from Chartres to Bordeaux-Saint-Jean that connects Cubzac-les-Ponts to Saint-Vincent-de-Paul and crosses the Dordogne. This work was built in 1885-1886 by the Daydé & Pillé establishments. Its resemblance and its proximity to the Gustave Eiffel road bridge have long left the name of the manufacturer in doubt.
6:00 pm – 6:45 pm : Transfer to Blanquefort (24 km)
6:00 pm : Frankton in Château Magnol
Frankton memorial plaque located inside the grounds.
7:00 pm – 7:15 pm : transfer to Le Taillan-Médoc (7 km)